Mark Cueto will become the Premiership’s all-time leading try scorer if he can cross the line when Sale Sharks visit in-form Saracens on Sunday.

The Sharks currently sit bottom of the Premiership with 11 points from 12 games, one point behind London Irish, and will be desperate for Cueto and his team-mates to perform as they battle to avoid relegation.

Sale ended 2012 with a win against Worcester Warriors but it will be a tall order to start the new year with a victory, as Sarries have lost just one of their last eight games.

Saracens will also be looking to sign off in their last Premiership game at Vicarage Road with a win before they move to a purpose-built stadium in Barnet later this month.

Andy Powell returns to the Sale line-up at number 8, Dwayne Peel starts at scrum-half and Richie Vernon shifts to flanker to replace David Seymour.

Meanwhile, new signing Dan Braid could make his Sale debut from the bench after being included in the 23-man party.

Saracens v Sale Sharks

Saracens squad: 15. Chris Wyles, 14. James Short, 13. Joel Tomkins, 12. Brad Barritt, 11. David Strettle, 10. Owen Farrell, 9. Richard Wigglesworth, 1. Mako Vunipola, 2. Schalk Brits, 3. Matt Stevens, 4. Steve Borthwick, 5. George Kruis, 6. Kelly Brown, 7. Will Fraser, 8. Ernst Joubert.

Replacements: 16. Jamie George, 17. Rhys Gill, 18. Petrus du Plessis, 19. Mouritz Botha, 20. Nick Fenton-Wells, 21. Neil de Kock, 22. Charlie Hodgson, 23. Duncan Taylor.

Sale Sharks squad: 15. Rob Miller, 14. Tom Brady, 13. Johnny Leota, 12. Sam Tuitupou, 11. Mark Cueto, 10. Danny Cipriani, 9. Dwayne Peel, 1. Ross Harrison, 2. Marc Jones, 3. Tony Buckley, 4. Richie Gray, 5. Kearnan Myall, 6. James Gaskell, 7. Richie Vernon, 8. Andy Powell.

Replacements: 16. Aston Croall, 17. Alasdair Dickinson, 18. Eifion Lewis-Roberts, 19. Tom Holmes, 20. Daniel Braid, 21. Will Cliff, 22. Charlie Amesbury, 23. Cameron Shepherd.

By Andy Jowett