Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Former Halton Council leaders honoured

A Special Meeting of Halton Borough Council has conferred the Honorary Freedom of the Borough on two former leaders of the council, Dave Cargill and Tony McDermott.

The Freedom of the Borough is the highest award that the council can bestow.

Coum. Cargill became a Member of Halton Borough Council in 1977 and has held positions as Vice Chair, Chair, Deputy Leader, Leader and was Mayor of Halton during 1989 – 1990. The first Chairman of the Cheshire Police and Crime Panel from 2012 to 2014, Cllr Cargill is currently Executive Board Member for Community Safety. He is also a member of the Liverpool City Region (European Investment Structural Fund). During his six years as Leader of the Council from 1993 to 1999, one of Cllr Cargill’s first priorities was to progress the Green Oaks development in Widnes. In 1998 he helped Halton to gain Unitary Status.

Coun. Tony McDermott was elected to Widnes Council in 1972, as a member for Broadheath Ward, where he still lives and which he has represented without a break for 45 years. He is the longest serving member of Halton Borough Council.

Leader of Halton Borough Council, Coun. Rob Polhill said “Between them, they have dedicated over eighty years of service to the community of Halton. Their contributions have helped to transform the borough over the years and in doing so improve the lives of many people living here.”

Each of the Honorary Freemen was presented with an Illuminated Address recording the enrolment and a Badge of Office and each will sign the Roll of Honorary Freeman.

Posted 11:59 AM Monday March 13, 2017. Filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response to this entry. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *